Locked out!

An funny thing just happened and I thought I’d share it with you although the joke is entirely at my own expense!
I was hanging up some washing outside on the balcony, and I decided to slide the door shut in order to keep the heat in. Today might just have been the coldest we’ve had so far in China. It’s about to get colder when we get to Yangshuo. Just 5 hours away on the coach and it’s 2*C there! Anyway, I’d just finished hanging up the washing when I remembered: the balcony door only has an opening mechanism on the inside of the flat!
I pondered my predicament for a moment before vainly wrenching at the stubborn door. I was stuck outside in the cold on on a balcony with a washing machine, a dustpan and brush, and a load of wet washing. Luckily, a solution was at hand. I had fortunately brought out with me my phone and my keys. Had I been without them it could have spelt disaster …and a nasty cold! I called Amy, who, hardly managing to suppress her mirth, made her way downstairs and out to where my balcony looked onto. There she retrieved my football boot, which I dropped from the third floor, stuffed with the wallet that contained my keys.
Before this solution occurred to me I was inspecting the wall for a route to climb down. I think it’s best that it didn’t come that! I just hope that’s the last time this happens!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 03:01:44

    We’ve all done it, but most of us weren’t in a school in China at the time!

    Reply

  2. Judith Ross
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 04:19:53

    Thank goodness for mobile phones!

    Reply

  3. Maddy
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 02:33:27

    Hahahahahhahahahahahaha….

    Reply

Leave a comment